OpenCores
no use no use 1/1 no use no use
Wishbone Verification Project
by ruschi on Jul 2, 2009
ruschi
Hi fellow members,
personally I have no experience in professional hardware verification with frameworks like OVM etc. However it came to my mind that it would be quite useful to launch a project (if it doesn't already exits) that comes up with some kind of generic wishbone master / slave interface which can be used for verifying other cores for whishbone compliancy.
I know comparable things exist for field bus devices and I think ARM also has something to test AMBA compliancy.
What do you think - and if you think its good. will you join me in the effort of creating such a piece of software/HDL testbench?
do you think it is actually necessary, somehow I have my doubts....

---
Cheers
ruschi
RE: Wishbone Verification Project
by madengineer on Jul 3, 2009
madengineer
Hi Ruschi,
I think you're right - such a tool would be useful. I've killed a Wishbone bus based system before by introducing (my own) non compliant buggy module onto the bus... It would be helpful to have a standard way of checking compatability, instead of every Wishbone module developer creating their own testbenches to do this.

Have you had any other interest?

Best regards,
Richard.
by vancejs on Feb 8, 2010
vancejs
This is a slightly old thread, but I just noticed it and wanted to reply.