OpenCores
no use no use 1/1 no use no use
RS232 FPGA <--> PC
by mike_from_space on Jun 29, 2019
mike_from_space
Posts: 19
Joined: Sep 11, 2018
Last seen: May 2, 2020
Hello is there any core to communicate a Digilent Spartan 3E with my laptop through RS232?
Thank you.
RE: RS232 FPGA <--> PC
by gajos on Jun 29, 2019
gajos
Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 17, 2011
Last seen: Apr 26, 2020
Dear Mike,
Jes it is. You can find it on tfe digilent resources site - https://reference.digilentinc.com/reference/programmable-logic/spartan-3e/start?redirect=1. How to use it You can find it in my project about Present enxryptor/decryptor.

Best regards,
Krzysztof
RE: RS232 FPGA <--> PC
by mike_from_space on Jun 30, 2019
mike_from_space
Posts: 19
Joined: Sep 11, 2018
Last seen: May 2, 2020
Hello, I followed the link + the files.

I made a constraints file:

NET "LEDS(7)" LOC = "F9" | IOSTANDARD = LVTTL | SLEW = SLOW | DRIVE = 8 ;
NET "LEDS(6)" LOC = "E9" | IOSTANDARD = LVTTL | SLEW = SLOW | DRIVE = 8 ;
NET "LEDS(5)" LOC = "D11" | IOSTANDARD = LVTTL | SLEW = SLOW | DRIVE = 8 ;
NET "LEDS(4)" LOC = "C11" | IOSTANDARD = LVTTL | SLEW = SLOW | DRIVE = 8 ;
NET "LEDS(3)" LOC = "F11" | IOSTANDARD = LVTTL | SLEW = SLOW | DRIVE = 8 ;
NET "LEDS(2)" LOC = "E11" | IOSTANDARD = LVTTL | SLEW = SLOW | DRIVE = 8 ;
NET "LEDS(1)" LOC = "E12" | IOSTANDARD = LVTTL | SLEW = SLOW | DRIVE = 8 ;
NET "LEDS(0)" LOC = "F12" | IOSTANDARD = LVTTL | SLEW = SLOW | DRIVE = 8 ;

NET "CLK" LOC = "C9" | IOSTANDARD = LVCMOS33 ;

NET "RST" LOC = "L13" | IOSTANDARD = LVTTL | PULLUP ;

NET "RXD" LOC = "R7" | IOSTANDARD = LVTTL ;
NET "TXD" LOC = "M14" | IOSTANDARD = LVTTL | DRIVE = 8 | SLEW = SLOW ;

Is it correct?
RE: RS232 FPGA <--> PC
by gajos on Jun 30, 2019
gajos
Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 17, 2011
Last seen: Apr 26, 2020
Using LEDs is not compulsory for use with RS232, so you can use it
only for testing purpose. In that case you have to use pointy brackets
rather than parentheses, so use "LED" than "LEDS(0)".
Another thing is the reset button. In S3E500 board is connected to the
slide swithes which is not convienient to use as reset button. It is
better to use push button (i.e. button south, K17 ->
NET "BTN_SOUTH" LOC = "K17" | IOSTANDARD = LVTTL | PULLDOWN ;)
The rest seem to be ok.

no use no use 1/1 no use no use
© copyright 1999-2020 OpenCores.org, equivalent to Oliscience, all rights reserved. OpenCores®, registered trademark.