OpenCores
no use no use 1/1 no use no use
SIMD
by firas2010 on Feb 12, 2020
firas2010
Hi all,

I want to implement SIMD architecture on FPGA. I am new in this field and try finding a software for simulating and implementing SIMD architecture. Can you please guide me about this? I really appreciate your help.

Kind Regards
Firas
RE: SIMD
by PabloMack on Mar 27, 2020
PabloMack
SIMD is really just what it stands for. These instructions do multiple operations instead of just one in parallel. For sake of generality, a vector is just the simplest form of an array. So when I talk about arrays, I am including vectors. There are two reasons why you might want to have SIMD:

1. Simplify coding by handing multiple operations of the same type in the same instruction stream.
2. To speed up array and vector operations.

The only differences between array and scalar operations are:

1. You have to have "registers" that hold two or more values at the same time. These can be special memory units inside the CPU or even just data structures in memory that are treated as such. SIMD is really more of an instruction encoding method than it is a hardware architecture, though it is usually implemented in hardware for speed.

2. You will either have to have a separate set of status flags for each element, limit yourself to operations that don't need them or use the operations for purposes that don't care about the loss of range and precision information when overflows and such happen.