



ORPSoC Modelsim simulations
by saurabhgupta on Jan 14, 2011 |
saurabhgupta
Posts: 31 Joined: Sep 16, 2010 Last seen: Feb 3, 2021 |
||
Hello!
I am trying to simulate the board designs for actel since I want to work on the ethernet module. I have ORPSoC and OpenRISC GNU toolchain installed on my system. I installed Modelsim simulator (free version) from alter. When I run the 'make rtl-test' command in the sim/run folder of the Actel board path I get the following error. Kindly suggest me as to how can I solve this problem. ### Compiling testbench ### ** Warning: /home/saurabh/testing/orpsocv2/boards/actel/ordb1a3pe1500/sim/run/../../../../../boards/actel/ordb1a3pe1500/bench/verilog/include/eth_stim.v(125): Extra semicolon found. This is permitted in SystemVerilog, but not permitted in Verilog. ** Warning: /home/saurabh/testing/orpsocv2/boards/actel/ordb1a3pe1500/sim/run/../../../../../boards/actel/ordb1a3pe1500/bench/verilog/include/eth_stim.v(126): Extra semicolon found. This is permitted in SystemVerilog, but not permitted in Verilog. Error: cannot find /home/saurabh/altera/10.1/modelsim_ase/bin/../linux/vopt make: *** [modelsim] Error 1 |
RE: ORPSoC Modelsim simulations
by julius on Jan 15, 2011 |
julius
Posts: 363 Joined: Jul 1, 2008 Last seen: May 17, 2021 |
||
Have you inspected the source at the place where Modelsim is reporting the error? (/boards/actel/ordb1a3pe1500/bench/verilog/include/eth_stim.v lines 125 and 126).
|
RE: ORPSoC Modelsim simulations
by saurabhgupta on Jan 15, 2011 |
saurabhgupta
Posts: 31 Joined: Sep 16, 2010 Last seen: Feb 3, 2021 |
||
The modelsim error isn't because of lines 125 and 126 but because of 'vopt not found' . I have tried reinstalling (student free version) twice but getting the same error.
At line 125 and 126 modelsim is just reporting a warning regarding extra semicolon. I had already inspected those files and there are no extra semicolon. #125 assign ethmac_rxen = eth_stim_disable_rx_stim ? 0 : `ETH_MODER_RXEN_BIT; #126 assign ethmac_txen = `ETH_MODER_TXEN_BIT; |
RE: ORPSoC Modelsim simulations
by olof on Jan 16, 2011 |
olof
Posts: 218 Joined: Feb 10, 2010 Last seen: Dec 17, 2018 |
||
Hi,
Just a thought... could it be that you need to install the Actel edition of modelsim instead of the Altera edition? I believe actel provides something similar to Alteras student edition |
RE: ORPSoC Modelsim simulations
by saurabhgupta on Jan 16, 2011 |
saurabhgupta
Posts: 31 Joined: Sep 16, 2010 Last seen: Feb 3, 2021 |
||
Hello !
Thanks for your reply. I installed the package from actel's website (They provide modelsim with a huge package called Libero). I have also added its bin path to my bashrc file. Now each time I am trying to run anything from the bin path including vopt am getting following error saurabh@bhaismachine:~$ vlog Error: cannot find /home/saurabh/actel/Model/modeltech/bin/linux_x86_64/vlog saurabh@bhaismachine:~$ vrun Error: cannot find /home/saurabh/actel/Model/modeltech/bin/linux_x86_64/vrun saurabh@bhaismachine:~$ vsim I used to get similar error with Altera modelsim but that was just for 'vopt' atleast thats what am aware of for it. Someone please tell me if I am using the right modelsim and also please tell me where am I going wrong. Also are there any other paths or variable to be set ? Any suggestion will be very helpful. -Saurabh |
RE: ORPSoC Modelsim simulations
by saurabhgupta on Jan 18, 2011 |
saurabhgupta
Posts: 31 Joined: Sep 16, 2010 Last seen: Feb 3, 2021 |
||
Can anybody help me ?
|
RE: ORPSoC Modelsim simulations
by julius on Jan 18, 2011 |
julius
Posts: 363 Joined: Jul 1, 2008 Last seen: May 17, 2021 |
||
Are you sure you've properly added the correct Modelsim directory to your PATH variable?
I know for my install I have just the linux/ directory in the PATH variable (32-bit GNU/Linux OS), not the bin/ directory.
saurabh@bhaismachine:~$ vlog
Error: cannot find /home/saurabh/actel/Model/modeltech/bin/linux_x86_64/vlog Did your shell really give you this error message? That doesn't look right to me. |
RE: ORPSoC Modelsim simulations
by saurabhgupta on Jan 18, 2011 |
saurabhgupta
Posts: 31 Joined: Sep 16, 2010 Last seen: Feb 3, 2021 |
||
Hello Julis,
I have tried the following things till today but unable to resolve the issue with modelsim. 1) The free edition from model.com is windows only so it was out of question. 2) I tried to install modelsim from altera but during 'make rtl-test' the error I got was 'vopt' not found. 3) I installed modelsim from actel's libero package and ran into following problems a) saurabh@bhaismachine:~$ vsim Error: cannot find /home/saurabh/actel/Model/modeltech/bin/linux_x86_64/vsim Solution : Either add the linuxacoem dir in PATH variable or use MTI_VCO_MODE:-"32". I have a 64 bit OS and it tries to run the 64 bit executable but fails at it. The commands like vlog, vopt on execution detect that it 64 bit OS but fail at finding the 64 bit executables since they do not exist. I don't know why they try to find 64 bit executables if the installer is not generating them. b) When I used this solution and tried to run vsim it gave me license error. Which bring me to the point that please tell me the Modelsim you are using (vendor & version). I think I have personally exhausted all methods to make modelsim run on my system. |
RE: ORPSoC Modelsim simulations
by saurabhgupta on Jan 18, 2011 |
saurabhgupta
Posts: 31 Joined: Sep 16, 2010 Last seen: Feb 3, 2021 |
||
Hello Julis,
I have tried the following things till today but unable to resolve the issue with modelsim. 1) The free edition from model.com is windows only so it was out of question. 2) I tried to install modelsim from altera but during 'make rtl-test' the error I got was 'vopt' not found. 3) I installed modelsim from actel's libero package and ran into following problems a) saurabh@bhaismachine:~$ vsim Error: cannot find /home/saurabh/actel/Model/modeltech/bin/linux_x86_64/vsim Solution : Either add the linuxacoem dir in PATH variable or use MTI_VCO_MODE:-"32". I have a 64 bit OS and it tries to run the 64 bit executable but fails at it. The commands like vlog, vopt on execution detect that it 64 bit OS but fail at finding the 64 bit executables since they do not exist. I don't know why they try to find 64 bit executables if the installer is not generating them. b) When I used this solution and tried to run vsim it gave me license error. Which bring me to the point that please tell me the Modelsim you are using (vendor & version). I think I have personally exhausted all methods to make modelsim run on my system. |
RE: ORPSoC Modelsim simulations
by saurabhgupta on Jan 18, 2011 |
saurabhgupta
Posts: 31 Joined: Sep 16, 2010 Last seen: Feb 3, 2021 |
||
UPDATE :
After setting mode=${MTI_VCO_MODE:-"32"} in Actel's modelsim I am again getting the following error which I got in Altera's Modelsim Error: cannot find /home/saurabh/actel/Model/modeltech/bin/linux/vopt make: *** [modelsim] Error 1 |
RE: ORPSoC Modelsim simulations
by saurabhgupta on Jan 23, 2011 |
saurabhgupta
Posts: 31 Joined: Sep 16, 2010 Last seen: Feb 3, 2021 |
||
Can anybody help me out ?
|
RE: ORPSoC Modelsim simulations
by julius on Jan 24, 2011 |
julius
Posts: 363 Joined: Jul 1, 2008 Last seen: May 17, 2021 |
||
Hi
I've added an option to the ORPSoC reference simulation Makefile that lets you specify if there's no vopt executable in Modelsim. Specify MGC_NO_VOPT=1 when compiling. It won't call the vopt executable, instead it will pass the -vopt option to vsim. Let me know if that fixes it for you. |
RE: ORPSoC Modelsim simulations
by dychen on Jan 24, 2011 |
dychen
Posts: 9 Joined: Jul 14, 2009 Last seen: Apr 26, 2011 |
||
use synopsys vcs try to do simulation
|



