OpenCores
no use no use 1/1 no use no use
Beginner
by Atria on Aug 10, 2013
Atria
Sir,I am a beginner in the fpga design field and wish to take up a project on Xilinx Spartan 3e fpga as my degree (graduation) level engineering project with an intention to learn fpga design. I have worked on a xilinx cpld before on some elementary projects, and have a brief idea about xilinx ide.

I was looking up the projects in the OpenCore certified category. But am confused regarding which would be the best one as my project considering that i am a novice. I am currently in my final year of Electronics engineering course.

Please guide regarding same
Thanking you in anticipation
RE: Beginner
by badmanjoe on Aug 11, 2013
badmanjoe
Hello beginner,

In my opinion there are few things you can start with. I would suggest to pick a MIPS processor, or any other small CPU and with good description and simply go over the design and re-implement it or advance it, or simulate it, or add another units to it.
The reason i suggest MIPS is that the architecture is similar to several courses taught in universities, so its a good starting point.

Once you got the processor running, you can add new cores to it such as branch prediction unit, out-of-order unit and so on.

Good luck
by jerryo on Aug 11, 2013
jerryo
Hi Beginner,

An approach that can maintain tremendous fun and motivation is to ask yourself what you want to invent? With concepts in mind, think about what cores (from OpenCores, Xilinx or others) you might integrate / modify / enhance (as the other poster mentions) to achieve your vision.

Creativity is always premium.
-Jerry
by Atria on Aug 12, 2013
Atria
Hello beginner,

In my opinion there are few things you can start with. I would suggest to pick a MIPS processor, or any other small CPU and with good description and simply go over the design and re-implement it or advance it, or simulate it, or add another units to it.