OpenCores
no use no use 1/1 no use no use
Starting out with open core
by adesai2 on Jun 20, 2015
adesai2
Hi
I'm Anish Desai a recent master's graduate student from NC state. USA. I recently joined open core and want to start contributing to projects asap. However because of my inexperience I am in need of some guidance. I would like to how a novice verilog ASIC engineer would start to help out. I am still learning the nitty-gritties of this site and the SVN repository. Any guidance on the matter of starting out on this website is welcome.
Regards,
Anish Desai
RE: Starting out with open core
by dgisselq on Jun 21, 2015
dgisselq
Welcome to the site, Anish!

Have you read through the discussion Cameron and I are working through on this thread? He's asking some of the same questions.

Dan

by dpaul on Jun 22, 2015
dpaul
Two most important things:

1> Decide on a project/core - lots of them available here, it is completely your choice before building something entirely by yourself.

2> BUY an FPGA and do the implementation yourself (there a hell lot to learn here).

All the best,
dpaul
by dgisselq on Jul 11, 2015
dgisselq

If funds are tight, you can still do a lot with just Verilator and a project idea, rather than buying an FPGA board.