OpenCores
First Prev 2/3 Next Last
RE: A new RISC and clockless processor
by ghutchis on Dec 23, 2018
ghutchis
That said, an asynchronous design requires its own process-specific cell library. For synchronous designs this cell library is normally provided for you, for async designs it may be up to the user to construct their own async cells out of the normal gate library.

I am not an electronics engineer so excuse me for not understanding this. Are you saying that "normal" HDL does not provide facility for clockless designs ?? What should be done in a emulator like Verilator in that case ??

What most people would consider normal HDL is HDL for clock-based designs (which, after all, constitute the vast majority of designs).

Both Verilog and VHDL can simulation asynchronous designs, however doing so requires using at least nominal delay statements in order to make the simulation proceed. As other posters have noted, Verilog and VHDL are also capable of describing designs which are unsynthesizable and arguably unimplementable.

Verilator, however, may not be able to simulate them, as Verilator is a cycle-based simulator -- a simulator made for simulating clock-based designs.

Any event-based simulator (VCS, Incisive, Icarus) should be able to simulate asynchronous circuits without a problem.
by xabiturbe on Dec 23, 2018
xabiturbe
Hi all, I find this project idea both timely (with the advent of open-source ISAs like RISC-V) and exciting. I do not have specific experience designing async logic, but ready to learn and help. I guess that all people interested in collaborating on this should try to organise (create a dedicated group/repository, etc). Waiting for news on how to organise and work. Please keep me posted. Thanks
by Sameer.Sameer on Dec 24, 2018
Sameer.Sameer

Yes, we would need to create special HW sub-units.

Yes, we can have separate graphics processing core, alongside Special DSP for multimedia to process the Images or videos, or Vice-versa.

Okay.