OpenCores
no use no use 1/3 Next Last
A new RISC and clockless processor
by Sameer.Sameer on Dec 16, 2018
Sameer.Sameer
Hello, I have been designing a RISC and clockless based processor since 2010. At present there are just a few instructions and a road map.The design is new from scratch. The OS will also have to be written from scratch.

I welcome anyone to contribute to the project.

The opencores page for my project is ( www.opencores.org/projects/taar ).
RE: A new RISC and clockless processor
by dgisselq on Dec 18, 2018
dgisselq
Sounds familiar! Only, I've been designing mine since 2015 or so.

Dan

by Sameer.Sameer on Dec 19, 2018
Sameer.Sameer
Sounds familiar! Only, I've been designing mine since 2015 or so.

Dan

Hello Dan, it was interesting to read about your effort and your aims. I didn't know that such a thing called Verilator exists. Like you, an FPGA is out of my reach presently. :)

As you can see, I am an amateur at processor design. But it will be nice to put together our respective projects.
by vishalzuluk on Dec 19, 2018
vishalzuluk
Hello Sameer,
I am also interested in designing the Processor and OS From scratch.
by Sameer.Sameer on Dec 20, 2018
Sameer.Sameer
Hello Sameer,

Hello Vishal, I will take it that you are interested to join my project. Welcome. :)

So you are from India ?? Also, are you an electronics engineer ??

I think the first study that we should do is to understand whether for the graphics/multimedia sub-system ( for compression of multimedia files, decompression and rendering ) :

1. Do we need to create special hardware sub-units ??

2. Or can we allot a separate processor core for the graphics, in which case we can have special processor instructions ??

Let us study this document ( https://www.embedded.com/design/prototyping-and-development/4230425/Add-graphics-without-using-a-dedicated-graphics-controller ).