OpenCores
no use no use 1/1 no use no use
pci 2 zorro bridge
by Ratte on Jan 21, 2010
Ratte
Hi,
first I am a newbie and i KNOW it will be a very long and hard way to learn and to understand.
So please dont ignore my questitions, I need some (moral) support.

My target will be a connection between two computersystems.
One the one side there will be a PC and on the other side my beloved classic-system Amiga.
We dont need to talk about the sense of classic computing ... its a hobby :-)

I would like to upgrade my old system with some GHZ power, i stand in contact to some softwaredevelopers like Toni Wilen who is responsible for the x86 Amiga Emulator "WinUAE".
He promised me software support in kind of a raw 68k-emulation on a PC that is communicating with "real" amiga-hardware over a "has to be done" pci-bridge.

So the target will be a pci to zorro (amiga bus) bridge.
There are a lot of pci-bridges allready in the projects, but is the some kind of pci-bridge that is suitable with less modifications?

One the one side there is the multiplexed pci-bus and on the other side is the amiga-bus with separated adress and databus.
Some bus protocols must be generated and interruptssignals must be passed trough to the pc.

At the end there will be some kind of x86-68k emulating processorboard (pico-itx) for the amiga.

How realistic is the idea?
Is there some existing pci-bridge that is predestined for such a project?
What kind of FPGA would you use for such a project.
(5V tolerant would make things a lot easier)
How many years should i calculate ...
(Only some skills in electronics and SMD-soldering 0,6 pitch)

Thanks in advance
Andre "Ratte" Pfeiffer
Bielefeld, Germany
bridge.pdf (466 kb)
RE: pci 2 zorro bridge
by amigabill on Jan 22, 2010
amigabill